Cocooning gym class – I’ll pass…

under-blanket-dog-wallpaperA few weeks back a client asked me what I thought about cocooning. I had no clue what he was talking about. I don’t often think about the metamorphosis of caterpillar to monarch – why should I? But then I saw the newspaper in his hand. ‘Great’, I said to myself.  He’s read about some new fitness fad and and now I have to talk about it objectively while trying to fight the urge to roll my eyes. I visited the coffee bar quickly before being educated on the latest gym gimmick.

So what is cocooning for those who exist outside the light of the latest fitness trends? Basically, you hang from a hammock for 15 minutes in a room with a bunch of other people (in their own hammocks) after doing light stretching and some ab work. It’s the commercial gym’s way to meet clients’ needs for a. introspection and b. relaxation in a venue they already frequent. It’s during those last fifteen minutes where the magic happens – the ‘magic’ being meditation. Of course, for some, the ‘magic’ is sleeping. Feel free to choose your magic – it’s your hammock after all – for 15 minutes at least. While introspecting in your hammock among strangers, you might be lucky enough to score a massage from the instructor – albeit through the gauze of your hammock. Or your cocoon I should say.

Suffice it to say, I’m not liking this cocooning class thing. The gym is not the best place to introspect and relax. In a lot of ways the gym environment facilitates disassociation – the opposite of introspection. From the flat screens built into the cardio equipment to the blaring Top 40’s music…the gauzy cocoon is a flimsy competitor to all that ‘noise’. Plus, I really don’t want to hang in a hammock in a room full of other people. Who knows what they’re doing in those hammocks. & God forbid one of them start snoring and ruin my ‘introspection’ session. And no thanks to the instructor-massage-thing. Is the instructor licensed as a massage therapist? I’m pretty sure it’s not legal for fitness instructors to touch someone unless they’re licensed. Plus, I’d worry about misguided hands touching parts they shouldn’t be through the gauze. It’s just not a good idea.

But all that aside, hammocks are not good for posture. The staff promoting the class kind of make the hammock seem like a sleep number bed when they say it conforms to your body. I just see a lot of flexed hips and lower backs held in shortened positions for the 15 minutes – enough time to stiffen up and require another bout of light stretching.

I like the idea of introspecting and relaxing – just not in the gym. A visit to the gym should be about challenging your body physically so you become strong and healthy – basically to take advantage of the physiological benefits associated with exercise including better sleep, improved mood, prevention of disease, etc. Enjoy these benefits to be your best self at work and home.

Cocoon and introspect elsewhere. A good place is in your own bed. Think of your comfy comforter as your cocoon – one that hasn’t been used by however many other sweaty gym-goers before you. Plan ahead the night before – place your clothes out for both the gym and work afterwards. Think of it as your monarch costume. Decide on the healthy breakfast you’re going to enjoy once you’ve emerged from your cocoon. These small preparations will provide the peace of mind to enjoy the extra time in your personal cocoon – all without the fear of falling from a hastily hung hammock in a space permeated by the faintest echoes of Ariana Grande’s latest hit bellowing through the rows of treadmills and dumbbells just outside the door.

Leave a comment